Human Practices/Committee

Human Practices Committee

On this page you will find information on: contacting the committee, the committee, and the committee alumni.

Members of the 2019 iGEM Human Practices Committee at the Giant Jamboree.

Contact the Committee

We know it’s not always easy to navigate the human practices issues that emerge as you’re working on your iGEM project. The Human Practices Committee is here to help!


Contact the committee via email at: humanpractices [AT] igem [DOT] org

You can ask us questions like:

  • Does a particular aspect of my team’s project count more as public engagement or as integrated human practices?
  • Can you recommend any points of contact to ask about synthetic biology policy in my country?
  • What is the iGEM protocol around conducting interviews with stakeholders?

We’re happy to clarify medal criteria, help you to plan engagement with people outside of your team, and otherwise assist with your human practices work. You might also want to read through the FAQ or the What Is Human Practices? Introduction page.

Human Practices Committee

On the iGEM Human Practices Committee, we recognize that using synthetic biology to address real-world problems requires thoughtful and ongoing engagement with the world. We are trying to create a framework that helps iGEMers become reflective, responsive and responsible practitioners.

Our committee of volunteer advisors is responsible for developing Human Practices-related elements of the competition. We do this through offering guidance, incentives, and recognition, in an iterative process through which we are also learning. The policies and decisions of iGEM relating to Human Practices do not necessarily reflect the opinions of individual committee members.

Note: we are currently updating this page with a full list of 2021 Committee members.