Engineering Committee

The iGEM Engineering Committee is composed of a diverse group of scientists that are excited about engineering biology. From 2021 on, the Engineering Committee replaces the Measurement Committee, with an extended scope.

The mission of the Engineering Committee is to:

  • Educate iGEM teams on good synthetic biology engineering practices
  • Establish and disseminate strong foundations of widely accessible measurement and calibration protocols and standards
  • Cultivate community development of biological devices with well-understood and predictable behavior.

We work on three main thrusts:

  • Protocol Helpline & Education: Check out our 2020 webinar series for useful content as you prepare to start your projects. We will be creating more webinars this year - stay tuned!
  • Standardization & Calibration: Check out our measurement / test resources that we've developed over the last few years. We are continuing work in this area and will post more information as we work on new materials.
  • Registry/Parts/Predictability: More to come soon!
  • Members of the Measurement at the 2019 Giant Jamboree

2021 Engineering Committee Members

  • Jacob Beal, Raytheon BBN Technologies - Chair
  • Ed Eisenstein, University of Maryland - Co-Chair
  • Alejandro Vignoni, Univestitat Politècnica de València (Valencia UPV) - Thrust Lead
  • Cheryl Telmer, Carnegie Mellon University - Thrust Lead
  • Sonja Billerbeck, University of Groningen - Thrust Lead
  • Alexis Casas, CRI Paris
  • Bradley Brown, Newcastle University
  • Bree Cummins, Montana State University
  • Bryan Bartley, Raytheon BBN Technologies
  • Carlos Vidal‑Céspedes, University of Chile
  • Daisuke Kiga, Waseda University
  • Dennis Mishler, University of Texas at Austin
  • Dorsin Chang, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Drew Endy, Stanford University
  • Edward Sander, University of Iowa
  • Esteban Martínez García, Centro Nacional de Biotecnologia-CSIC
  • Ethan Jones, Harvard
  • Evan Olson, EPFL
  • Gael Chambonnier, MIT
  • Geoff Baldwin, Imperial College London
  • Gonzalo Vidal, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Guillermo Yáñez Feliú, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Hatem Abdelrahman, Zewail City for Science and Technology
  • Iain George, OSP Microcheck
  • Ian Schlander, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Ibrahim Adam, Ginkgo Bioworks
  • Ibrahim Dulijan, Stevens Institute of Technology
  • Jacob Mejlsted, DTU - Technical University of Denmark
  • Jake Becraft, Strand Therapeutics
  • Jasmine Bird, Newcastle University
  • Jeff Bouffard, Concordia University
  • Jesse Tordoff, Arbor Biotechnologies
  • Kalaumari Mayoral Pena, Tecnologico de Monterrey
  • Keoni Gandall, Sporenet Labs
  • Liang Cai, Fudan University
  • Lucas Hartsough, Ginkgo Bioworks
  • Maarten Lubbers, Leiden University
  • Marc Fleischmann, Stanford University
  • Matt Burridge, OXGENE
  • Miles Rogers, Raytheon BBN Technologies
  • Muhammad Naufal Hakim, King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi
  • Noah Sprent, Imperial College London
  • Paul Ross, Self-employed
  • Paul Rutten, University of Oxford
  • Rahmi Lale, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) /
  • Rene Inckemann, Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology
  • Sudeep Agarwala, Ginkgo Bioworks
  • Tania Pozzo, Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Tim Rudge, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Varsha Jaisimha, After iGEM, IISER Pune
  • Vinoo Selvarajah, iGEM Foundation - iGEM HQ Liaison
  • Tessa Alexanian, iGEM Foundation - iGEM HQ Liaison
  • Traci Haddock-Angelli, iGEM Foundation - iGEM HQ Liaison

Have suggestions, need help or want to get in touch with our committee members? Please email the Engineering Committee at engineering [AT] igem [DOT] org .